In like a lion.

It’s perfect that the first post in my garden blog begins with one of the earliest bloomers–daffodils! For years, beginning when I first moved to Somerset, I’ve kept a meticulous diary recording all aspects of my garden including when various plants, shrubs, and trees were planted, when they bloomed, how I prepped the soil, when I pruned, when I fertilized and how much, etc. I then compare these entries year to year.

Alas, my daffodils, sadly enough, mock me with their yellow faces! There is no rhyme or reason for the number of blooms my gardens produce each year. In 2010 I had 21 daffodils. Sadly, only three beauties bloomed this year. Perhaps that’s a result of the depth I planted them? Or more likely the result of a hungry and industrious squirrel digging up and eating my bulbs? Do you have any pointers?

Leave a Reply

